Stop the Cuts to Graduate Medical Education

Theodore (Ted) Sanford, M.D., President, Association of Anesthesiology Core Program Directors, and Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, University of Michigan attended last Friday's meeting of the Organization of Program Directors. As part of the deficit reduction discussions, Congress and the Obama Administration are proposing a cut of 60% ($60 billion) in federal GME support. Such a proposal will jeopardize residency training programs across the country. The American Association of Medical Colleges has asked every physician, resident and medical student to visit the AAMC Legislative Action Center ( to send a pre-formatted electronic letter to your Senators and Representatives urging them to oppose GME cuts as part of deficit reduction.

MSA Members in the News at Anesthesiology 2011

At this year's ASA Annual Meeting, Anesthesiology 2011, there were some notable Michigan member highlights... George A. Mashour, M.D., Ph.D., Director of Neuroanesthesiology, University of Michigan was the ASA 2011 Presidential Scholar Award recipient. James D. Grant, M.D., Chair, Anesthesiology, Beaumont Health System was elected ASA Treasurer at the ASA House of Delegates. Greg Ghiardi, M.D. was the featured anesthesiologist in the 2011 Philip S. Weintraub ASA Media Award won by Ms. Nikki Junewicz, Fox UP News, Marquette


Wayne State University School of Medicine Announces Department of Anesthesiology Chairman

Douglas Bacon, M.D., M.A., has been appointed Chair of Anesthesiology, and he will replace Michael Marsh, M.B., B.S., who is retiring as Chairman. Welcome Dr. Bacon, who also has the distinction of being Editor of the ASA Newsletter.


Michigan Health & Hospital Association Postpones an Opt-Out Endorsement until June 2012

As many of you are aware, the MHA Legislative Policy Panel recommended that the MHA Board of Directors endorse removing physician supervision from the administration of anesthesia by CRNAs. At the MHA Board meeting on November 9th, a position statement was released. As a result of a letter sent to the MHA prior to their meeting from the Michigan State Medical Society, this decision has been postponed and will be revisited in June at the MHA Annual meeting. In the meantime, the Michigan Society of Anesthesiologists will be working with MSMS and the Michigan Osteopathic Association to address the concerns being raised by the hospital association, particularly their focus on access to care.

See Attachment:

MHA Position Statement on CRNA Supervision

American Society of Anesthesiologists Political Action Committee [ASAPAC]

Finally, I would like to personally thank each anesthesiologist who contributed to the ASAPAC in 2011. Through your efforts Michigan raised an all-time record in donation dollars and participation rate, all of which helped ASAPAC to another record fiscal year with over $1.67 million. The ASAPAC remains America's Leading Physician PAC and one of the nation's top health industry PACs. As the Secretary of the ASAPAC Executive Board, I can assure you we will continue to promote our profession as a premier patient safety and quality health care advocate.

Donor Amount [top four States]

  1. Alabama - $159,285
  2. Florida - $157,349
  3. Texas - $98,723
  4. Michigan - $91,847

State Component Participation Rate

  1. Alabama - 63.5%
  2. Maine - 52.8%
  3. West Virginia - 51%
  4. Oklahoma - 50.1%

    Michigan - 27%

*This is the first time in ASAPAC history that four states were able to secure the support of at least 50% of their eligible members.


Best Regards,

Kenneth Elmassian, D.O., Director
American Society of Anesthesiologists
President, Michigan Society of Anesthesiologists






There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.