MSA Members,

At the recent ASA Annual Meeting in Chicago, two Past Presidents of the MSA ascended into new leadership roles in the ASA.

James D. Grant, M.D., M.B.A., Oakland County, was named President-elect and will become ASA President in October 2017 in Boston. He will be the first ASA President from Michigan in over 36 years.

Kenneth Elmassian, D.O., Ingham County, was elected Assistant Secretary of the ASA. Prior to his elevation, he served in multiple ASA capacities, including Chair of the ASA Committee on Communications.

In addition, multiple Michigan physician anesthesiologists were named to key ASA committees and their skills and talents were well recognized and they will do well in their new positions. In particular, John L. Pappas, M.D., Oakland County, assumed the role of Secretary-Treasurer of the ASA Political Action Committee and Michael Lewis, M.D., Wayne County, will continue as the Section Chair on Subspecialties.

Please join me in congratulating Drs. Grant, Elmassian, Pappas, Lewis and all Michigan physician anesthesiologists in their ASA roles as they continue to represent our specialty. This is the first time that two Michigan anesthesiologists are on the ASA Administrative Council which is a testament to the leadership and engagement of Michigan’s physicians anesthesiologists.


John LaGorio, M.D.
Michigan Society of Anesthesiologists


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.